Why Praying for your Girl Matters…


20121158_1966258606921476_1895253948306773899_oI don’t think I have ever read a book that made me wish I could turn back time in quite the way Teri Lynne Underwood’s new book, Praying for Girls, has.

I didn’t grow up in a faith household. I also didn’t grow up in a household that spent much time investing in my future or my heart. Thankfully, I have a God that showed up in unexpected ways throughout my growing up and, while I may not have known it at the time, He was preparing me for a life with Him.

From the moment I came to Christ-in a public school counselors office no less-I have longed for deeper relationship with him, to live out my days serving Him and to raise my family according to His word. All good things, right! But, here’s the deal. Other than scripture I didn’t really have a handbook for how to go about living a Christian life. I became part of a great church that modeled this for me in loving, accepting and tangible ways. Looking back it is one of the best churches I have ever attended. Life and circumstance took our family many different places-and to many different churches-and I don’t think I have ever seen it modeled so well anywhere else.

Prayer as a way of life…

One thing that I could never quite grasp well was prayer. Prayer, in my experience, is approached and sometimes attached to particular methods and philosophies that I struggled to buy into. I had a college professor who wrote a book titled God is Not a Vending Machine and so often prayer is treated like a vending machine. I pray this, in the right order, and I get an answer. The answer I want. Or, in some cases, the thing I want. I always felt something was missing. I also never learned that prayer-real prayer-was a way of life until I was much older.

I am a Mim now, my children are all grown and married and I get to spend my days loving on my adorable grand daughters-I have three and each one lights my heart. When I heard about Praying for Girls I got a little excited. When I checked out the website (http://prayersforgirls.com/) I got a little more excited and signed up. Then, when I heard Teri was writing a book, I knew I had to get my hands on it.

Through the course of following Prayers for Girls online and now in this amazing new book I have learned so much about prayer and our ability to pray scripture in a way I had never experienced before. There is no formula, this isn’t a ‘pray this and you will get everything you ever hoped for’ kind of book. Teri opens her heart in honesty and a deep desire to address the very real challenges facing our girls. She presents scripture as prayer and does it in such a way that transformed how I pray for the girls in my life.

Teri Lynne writes from the tender place of remembering what it was like to be a girl and also from and equally tender place of being Mom to a girl of her own. She invites the reader into her experiences and then offers sections geared to cover every aspect of your girl’s growing up. With sections titled Prayers for Her Identity, Prayers for Her Heart, Prayers for Her Mind, Her Relationships and Her Purpose, she equips us with ways to feed our daughters spirit and deepen her relationship with God. As Mom’s we understand the importance of feeding our children healthy meals designed to nourish their growing bodies, making sure they get the rest they need, and feeding their minds. It is as-if not more-important to feed and care for their spiritual hearts and bodies.

19665337_1957977367749600_3811097255956777684_n

Along with prayers for our girls, Teri includes sections of encouragement for Mom’s. Let’s face it, we don’t always get it right-I never did! She cares as much for the heart’s of Mom’s as she does for their girls and speaks specifically to them throughout the course of the book. She also provides suggestions for interactions with your girls-no matter their age-that coincide with themes presented in the book. These not only illustrate God’s love for them but grow your relationship with your girls

I may not have had a resource like this when my children were young-though I sincerely wish I would have-I am grateful to have this book now! I don’t think it is ever too late to pray these scriptures over our children and by praying them for my grandchildren I am a loving them in the best way possible.

Only for girls?

I know this is a book designed specifically for girls but without hesitation I would recommend it for anyone with a child in their lives. The prayerful pursuit of God in our children’s lives is never wasted and just like we can never stop being their Mom’s, we should never stop praying for them.

Prayers for Girls is available now and can be found on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and other major online retailers. You can also learn more about Praying for Girls by visiting the website and while you are there make sure you sign up for the prayer calendars! Each month you have access to a downloadable daily prayer resource!

As always there are always a multitude of words that I wish I would have said…and my views are my own. I have received no remuneration for my review other than a copy of this amazing book. I want to thank Teri Lynne Underwood and Bethany House for providing a review copy, it is one I will return to again and again.

Images courtesy Praying for Girls.

