What are you waiting for?


“…Stand up and praise the LORD your God, for he lives from everlasting to everlasting!…” Nehemiah 9:5

OK, I am going to be honest here…I wrote this weeks ago and submitted it to the blog I was writing for at the time and I did a lousy job. I hadn’t edited it. I didn’t have images prepared. I dropped the ball. My bad and mea culpa.  What was left was a brief, unpublished post that I couldn’t stop thinking about.  Yes, Advent is over and we are slowly preparing ourselves to move forward into Lent, but-and this is a big BUT-there is never a wrong time to be reminded of the greatness of God. His ALMIGHTY nature defies the mere words we ascribe to it but each attribute bears the marks of his presence and requires-no, deserves, our undivided attention.

Better late than never…

We are in the middle of Advent. A season of waiting that guides us to the culmination of that incredible gift of redemption through Christ. If you have been fortunate enough to take part in the Sacred Holidays advent study, He Is, this year’s journey is one not only of redemption, but an amazing reminder of the attributes of God. This study is timeless and season-less. It is also remarkably humbling.

We get bogged down in our routines and distractions. So much happens in our days that we go from one thing to another, slogging through the minutia of the mundane or reeling from the unexpected.  The news of the world tears at our hearts, the idea of balancing family obligations weigh us down. It’s no wonder that we take our eyes off the very thing we should be focusing on-there is Just. So. Much.  To sit down and take a deep breath, take in a moment when God can step in and gently remind you that He’s got this, is a gift greater than any that could be hidden in that shiny package under the tree.

There is never a better time than right now to stop. Just set it down-even for a minute-and be reminded that He is Omniscient; He is all things. That he is gracious; undeserving as we are, He freely gives. That he is Immutable, unchangeable. That he is righteous, just. The list goes on and each attribute builds like a crescendo on the one before until they harmonize together in a chorus of His goodness. He waits for us to stop, to look up, to see his open arms. So, here is my question; what are you waiting for?

I know what my response would be…there is another load of laundry I need to do before I can give my full attention to Him; the dishwasher needs to be unloaded; groceries don’t buy themselves; if I don’t vacuum this second sock fuzz will take over the living room and I’ll never get that nomination for housekeeper of the year (no worries-never been in the running and never will be); dinner needs to be made; the dust…oh, the dust; kids need to be picked up; did I mention the dust? Notice the never ending list of ordinary things that can separate us from the extraordinary relationship He longs to have with us?

I always thought that once my kids were gone that I would have tons of time to focus on digging into the word, growing my relationship with God-He would wait. What I didn’t realize was that there would always be something to distract me, to keep me busy and to keep me looking in any direction but up.  Waiting for just the right time might be great for some things but right now is the best time to stop, look up and remember who He Is.

“…Stand up and praise the LORD your God, for he lives from everlasting to everlasting!…” Nehemiah 9:5

One Reply to “What are you waiting for?”

Comments are closed.