Here spider, spider, spider….


How do you describe white noise?  That strange static-y sound that fills a silence?  I thought by taking a little break and pre-posting for the weekend that I would come back refreshed and filled with words for a new week.  You can put that sound in this space…..

The best plans can get waylay-ed  for the smallest reasons.  We found a house this weekend! This place is adorable and I can see my self there preparing for Christmas, playing with my grand, sitting by the wood stove and doing all kinds of homey activities.  And the loft-Ohhhh, the loft. So cute. Have you seen Frozen? Insert Olaf’s voice…Low maintenance yard, lots of trees, beautiful deck, cute little library, all wood floors, old fashioned door bell…and I could go on but I won’t.  The fact that it is a fixer-upper AND that it is 963 square feet doesn’t phase me a bit. It is like a story book cottage! COME ON!! What’s not to love!

And then the Realtor called. They’ve decided to sell to a family member instead. Heart-feet, say hello. OK, so my husband wasn’t as sold as I was but he was getting there and I could just see life unfolding for a while. OK, so I know that this is not a world shaking event, it only affects my little world. There are many other really bad things happening all over-just turn on the news if you want a good dose of depressing reality! I should totally NOT be worried about something so insignificant.  Someone please tell my heart that-because it hurts a little. Well, maybe more than a little.

My prayer is much the same as the last time-Lord, grant me acceptance for YOUR plan in my life. Just writing those words helps my shoulders relax a little. Doesn’t change how I feel but there is a reassurance that it is not my problem-I can let this go cause He’s got this.  I love it when words or songs or ideas materialize at the right moment-small serendipitous gifts that grab the attention like a pair of Hands gently holding your face and redirecting your gaze.

Oh to grace how great a debtor, daily I’m constrained to be! Let thy goodness, like a fetter, bind my wondering heart to thee. Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it, prone to leave the God I love; here’s my heart, Oh take and seal it, seal it for thy courts above.     Robert Robinson, from Come Thou Fount

Maybe my words disappeared but these words are so much better-breathe in, breathe out….ahhh. Yup, me and my wandering heart.  I know this has to do with my situation but I also know He touches me AND you in small and almost undetectable ways-lifts your chin with his words, or in the music of the birds or the swirl of a falling leaf. I know he has a heart for your heart and knows your deepest longings-He’s got this. The big ones and the small ones. He’s got it.

I’m glad I can lay it out to him and know He can handle it. Whew. I can get back to my little world, have my little cup of coffee (OK, barrel sized mug), run my errands, write, work and whatever else that isn’t world changing that I need to do and let him worry about the other stuff. And come on-I just saw a picture of a spider the size of a small dog. So, yeah, there are waaaaayyyyyy bigger problems out there-I can let this one go!  I’m thinking that the next time I feel this way I’ll just picture old Goliath there (the spider not the big dude) and then it won’t seem like such a big deal!

Just do the work you were created to do (no matter how small or big)-even if the world doesn’t accept it at first.  You were created to do the work only you can do and it is simply marvelous!

Enjoy the AND because that is where the journey is happening-

S.

P.S. If this is your first time here check out the 31 Days tab to find out more about the challenge and Welcome! I hope you come back 😉 AND, if you want to catch up check out these earlier posts-

Day 1-And So We Begin…

Day 2-Coffee Pot with a View

Day 3-Step away from the post…or not.

Day 4-Secrets, Who Me?

Day 5 –Breathing Space for Sunday

Day 6-A Little Pumpkin Sitting

Day 7-…Brevity is sweetness…

Day 8-Earworm Wednesday…you’re welcome

Day 9-Bear With Me…

Day 10-A Day for Sowing Seed

Day 11-A Little Art-A Little Less Serious

Day 12-An Oldy But Goody

Day 13-Off to Autumn

Day 14-The Redcoats are Coming

Day 15-Do Your Own Work

Day 16-Saying Yes to Rejection

P.S.S.  Want to follow along? Hit the subscribe button on the side bar and you’ll be the first to here what’s happening in the &! (I haven’t quite figured out how to do that in a post yet but I’m gettin’ there!

P.S.S.S. If you like this post please share it!!

3 Replies to “Here spider, spider, spider….”

  1. I love these happy notes of encouragement from you. They fill my font full and I think I had a slow leak. Cause I needed your words to fill me up and point to Him. MERCY, MERCI

Comments are closed.