And, So We Begin @write31days


I love a good piece of music that gets me moving AND if it has a great message you can be sure it will land in my ‘power’ playlist! There are days that I need that little extra sumthin’ that gets me dancin’ while I load the dishwasher-that helps me shed the cares of the day and just be.  When I was thinking of how to start the 31 days writing challenge I kind of wanted to rally around a song that would get me moving in body and mind but I kept crossing off songs on my list because they didn’t really move me in the right way. Then there was this one…

There is a vulnerability that happens when you take a leap and try something new-join a new community, start a new school year, go on a date or step out into something unfamiliar.  I was feeling this all over the place when I thought about what might happen when I tried my hand at writing for the challenge. Would I get the likes? Would people read along? Would they comment?  Then I realized that it didn’t matter. I was focused too much on me.  I was trying way too hard.

What I really want to do is reach out and craft a simple love letter to anyone who might find themselves here. You might be coming from a place of deep pain or taking a few minutes out of an ordinary day to see what it’s all about. If you have landed here-even if it is just today- I want you to know I am grateful for you-that you are amazing just in being who you are. Maybe you don’t even know what that is yet-I am nearly 50(uh, yeah-totally keeping it real here so I won’t leave out that particular detail) and on a journey to figure that out myself after a lifetime of assimilating to what I thought I should be- according to someone else’s standards. That’s a lot of years of trying way too hard.

For these 31 days I intend to keep it real. I will be living in the &-that place where ‘and what else‘ becomes natural and less intimidating. I hope to encourage as well as just have fun.  I don’t know where this will lead but so far the AND is looking pretty darn good.

BTW-more on the power playlist later! Do you have songs that kick it into high gear? Move you? Empower you? I’d love to know what they are!

Enjoy the AND because that is where the journey is happening-

S.

P.S. If this is your first time here check out the 31 Days tab to find out more about the challenge and Welcome! I hope you come back 😉

2 thoughts on “And, So We Begin @write31days

  1. kkinne says:

    Claire de lune. It calms me and gives me strength; does wonders for my mental health too. I play it loud, engage my super power and dance like I am Misty Copeland.

  2. judikruis says:

    What a GREAT start video! The songs have changed over the years AND even when they aren’t played through speakers….I’m glad they know how to come through the heart!

Comments are closed.