It’s Still So Worth It…


I thought I knew what I would write when I finally decided to dust the old blog off and get back to it-something profound, wise and quote worthy that would relaunch the blog and encompass all things lovely and bloggish-insert slide whistle sound ending with a plop. I couldn’t conjure any bells and whistles (if you don’t count the slide whistle), fan fare or anything particularly profound I just kept having this feeling that it was time.

A year is a long time!  I thought it was interesting when I opened up my wordpress dashboard that it had been almost exactly a year since my last post and my decision to set it aside. I, quite literally, have not looked at my blog for a year. Some rumbling had told me it was time to stop and then suddenly I knew it was time to begin again.  I was only a little resistant but I know that ignoring a prompt like that gets me in trouble sooooo, here I am-back in the proverbial saddle again!

I have done a little housekeeping-chose a new look, something cleaner with more breathing space-cleaned up the ‘stuff’ that was hanging around and lightened things up a bit.  It’s a lot like what is happening in my real life too. I have spent the last year cleaning house-letting go of ‘stuff’-only in this case it is STUFF-all capitals kind of stuff.  I have let go of certain ambitions, cleaned out the superfluous (I like this word for some reason) and set aside all kinds of things, ideas, projects, relationships, physical stuff, objects, assumptions, expectations (ooh, that’s a toughie) and dreams all in an attempt to figure out just what I am suppose to be doing. Shoot, we even sold our house!  So here I sit in a rented, temporary space where all I have that is mine is a ficus (don’t judge, this tree has been in my life 23 years and is a better conversationalist that some people I know!), a pan, one whisk,  a cat, a toaster and my best friend,,,my coffeepot.  I do have clothes but they appear to be all the wrong clothes since warmth took a hiatus and we have been plunged into fall without warning. Note-layering short sleeves still leaves your arms exposed-time to visit the Unit, where life gets stored until one figures it all out.

When I decided to come back I was tempted to hit delete on all that old posts for a totally fresh start but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. Good, bad or otherwise this is part of it all and I decided to leave it as a reminder.  The harder part is what comes next.  I don’t think I will change how I have done things-I still love to talk about art, life and everything in between-mostly because the in between is rich and fertile and is usually where some really great stuff happens.  I probably won’t talk too much about art-only once in awhile as it is becoming a smaller part of who I am. Life, well that covers a lot of territory and without it there isn’t much to write about…right?  So, it is the in between, the humble dash – that little mark where all the activity takes place that makes it all So Worth It that will feed what comes next. That and the ampersand-I love this little guy…

georgia

I have even started to collect them! It is the “graphic abbreviation for the Latin conjunction et(and)”  and this  little symbol use to be the last character in the alphabet & was a slurred version of ‘and, per se and’… AND I love all that it represents-the ‘and’, the what comes next, the what’s ahead, and…

If you are still out there, and assuming (shoot, can’t get rid of them) there is still any interest, join me in going forward-stop by and say hello and let’s see what’s coming!!

