Beast in the Pantry…blame @_ChefRoberto


OH. MY. GANACHE.  Many of you who follow my blog know that I have food sensitivities and am always on the hunt for good, healthy recipes that I don’t have to worry about eating.  Let me just say that I have found a cookbook that I could have a love affair with. Seriously.  NO-I am not kidding!  I take this book to bed with me.  Why you ask?

Does that answer your question?? NO??  How about this…

Even with these grainy cell phone pics it is pretty clear that this is some serious chocolate action! All vegan, all gluten free(my version) and all gone.  I kid you not.

If you haven’t checked it out yet you need to add Vegan Cooking for Carnivores by Roberto Martin to your to do list.  This is hands down one of the best cookbooks I have come across in a long, looooooong time.  Martin demystifies the ‘vegan’ side of cooking-and I love his philosophy and his approach when it comes to making good food vegan-not making ‘vegan’ food.  I am married to a dyed in the wool, card toting, tooth picking carnivore and when you say vegan within hearing distance he gets the shivers.  This cookbook is helping to bridge the gap between his beefy proclivities and my vegan leaning sensitivities and I couldn’t be happier.

From dressings to desserts the recipes are doable.  The ingredients are accessible, pronounceable and real.  Proof positive that there is beauty in simplicity!

As for the recipe above, La Bete Noire (The Black Beast), page 197 is your holy grail-look it up-you will NOT be disappointed. Think mousse meets cheesecake meets 28 oz. of good chocolate and you get an OMG moment with every bite!

(FYI-I am not paid by, not affiliated with and not afraid to shout the praises of VCforC. Just like to share good things when I find them)

2 thoughts on “Beast in the Pantry…blame @_ChefRoberto

  1. Rosalie says:

    You had me at ‘gluten free’…

    Wow, it looks amazing and I hope to access the recipe through your links. With Celiac, I am seriously gluten-free, also soy and casein free. Although, I can eat whole cream and whole butter because the cow’s milk protein casein molecule is encased in butter and does not interact with the gut while it passes through the small intestine…hope that’s not too much information:), however, so lucky to be able to eat cream and butter, what is life without it?!….soooo lucky.
    Thanks for your blog. Look forward to getting to know you and your interests.
    All the best,
    Rosalie
    DesertFrenchGirl.etsy.com

    • susanmulder says:

      Hi Rosalie! I am sure the recipe could be adjusted to accommodate your special diet. I am the opposite-though I only have a gluten sensitivity and not celiac- I cannot have dairy (and a lot of other odd stuff) and this calls for tofu and soy or almond milk(I prefer the almond). Thank goodness I can have chocolate because there is lots and lots of it in this one 🙂 Enjoy your day!

Comments are closed.