Vegan, Gluten Free Creamy Pumpkin Stuffed Shells…mmmmm


As I keep trying new recipes and converting old to fit my dietary issues once in a while I find a good one!  Dinner tonight was especially yummy and I received a few requests for the recipe so here you go!  This is a converted recipe but one that came out pretty well-everyone in the family (non vegans too!) loved them.

Enjoy!

 

1 pkg Jumbo GF shells- I use Tinkyada brand Pasta Joy brown rice pasta shells-they are stable and not starchy

Cook pasta shells according to package directions, drain and rinse with cool water.

 

Filling:

1.5 cups cooked pumpkin-I cook my own but you can use canned.  You may need to add a teaspoon or two of liquid because canned pumpkin is much thicker than fresh

1 16 oz. container Tofutti brand Better than Ricotta Cheese

1/4 c. Tofutti brand Better than Cream Cheese

1/2 c. shredded vegan mozarella cheese

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 c. Fresh Basil, chopped

Salt and Pepper to taste (I used a rosemary salt that added a nice touch of flavor)

Blend ingredients and set aside to stuff shells when ready.

 

Sauce:

Either one large can of premade spagetti sauce or the following:

2 small cans tomato sauce

1 T. Fresh Basil, chopped

1 t. oregano

1 t. honey

1 T. EVOO

Garlic or other Salt and Pepper to taste.

 

Spray a 9 x 13 baking dish to avoid sticking.  There are two ways to do the dish-one way is to spread the sauce in the bottom of the dish first and then place filled shells on top or to spoon sauce on top of filled shells-it is a matter of personal preference.  I like to spoon the sauce on top and then fill in the cracks.  I think this helps to keep the shells from drying out too much during baking.  Whichever you choose, fill each cooked shell with the pumpkin filling and place in prepared dish.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes.

 

This is pretty basic and you can embellish in whatever way works for you.  My husband added chicken- but that kind of defeated the purpose (in my opinion) but it kept the vegan and non-vegans happy!

 

 

 

One thought on “Vegan, Gluten Free Creamy Pumpkin Stuffed Shells…mmmmm

Comments are closed.