Duty Free


This being Wednesday I should (hate that word) be doing any number of things-instead I am declarin a ‘duty free’ day.  This is officially a day where my list of duties ceases to exist, if only for a short time.  I am using this new holiday for a little breathing space and asking myself what I want to do as opposed to what I have to do. This shift in perspective is more profound than I anticipated!  Oddly enough, I now anticipate some of those things that-just yesterday-were another item on the endless list of the must get dones.

On my list?? Vacuuming, dusting, cleaning the kitchen and (horrors) doing a load or two of laundry!  Nothin’ new here but somehow I am looking forward to these mundane tasks!  Why? Well, I am no expert here so, this is merely conjecture-but I think it has everything to do with perspective/attitude.  I am choosing to see these items as different than I have seen them in the past.  Instead of chores, drudgery, monotonous and endlessly repetitive and unrewarding tasks (sense my true feelings yet?) I am looking at the potential.  My living room has the potential to be restful and fresh if I get it vacuumed and dusted!  My kitchen may actually stay clean for a couple of hours! Yay (husbands office has officially moved out so no more mounds of dirty dishes and grease splatters on the stove). As for the laundry-I don’t think I will every like doing that so I will focus on the great lavender smell I can now get in my laundry products!

What is the point of this??  How does this matter?  Changing perspective can be refreshing and recentering and offers the opportunity to shed some old and stale ideas. I could stand to apply this in more than just my day to day ‘duties’!

I am off to see what happens when I change a little perspective…

