Gluten Free Buzz


With the snow falling outside and the smell of fresh coffee filling the kitchen, I decided it was time to break out my new gluten free cookbook from Workman Publishing, The Cake Mix Doctor Bakes Gluten-Free written by Ann Byrne. I have been anxious to start trying some of the recipes ( I had tried the gingerbread recipe before and it was amazing!) and settled on the Honey Bun Cake–perfect for a late breakfast with MY honey!

I poured myself some coffee, assembled my ingredients and tried to keep the mouth watering to a minimum…

Besides having a gluten sensitivity I am also not cool with dairy products and whole eggs(not that they aren’t cool-they just don’t like me) so with a few easy peasy substitutions (tofu sour cream for the regular sour cream adding a touch of water to soften  and egg whites for the whole eggs) I had a yummy looking batter.  Tasted pretty darn good too!  Once the batter was spread out in my trusty 9″ x 13″ it was time for the honey goodness to do its magic.

This isn’t just any honey-this comes from my brother-in-law and nephew’s bees and it is, well, it’s the bee’s knees!

A little drizzle of honey and a sprinkle of brown sugar, cinnamon and nuts and it is into the oven-

and the waiting begins…

Baudrillard thinks I am going to share….sorry buddy.

Oh yeah!!

And the fragrance?? Mouthwateringly (it’s a word if I say it is!)  incredible.

From first taste to the last crumb this cake was a perfect start to my day!  Not only is this safe for me to eat on all levels but it made all the other non-GF, dairy loving, afraid of things without meat and potatoes in it people very happy!  So happy in fact that by the time my plate looked like this…

there was nothing left in the pan.  Did I mention it was a 9″ x 13″?  I was lucky to find  few crumbs to nibble on while I finished my coffee.   No doubt about it, I will be making this again but next time I will wait until no one is home!

If you are someone who has a gluten free diet, or just want to be nice to someone who does-it would be SO worth it to pick up a copy of  this snazzy little cookbook (it is actually pretty good sized-lots of great recipes from cakes to cookies!). The recipes are easy to follow and they all start with a basic GF cake mix.  One of the features I especially appreciate are the ‘Dairy Free’ substitutions included for most of the recipes. The author also includes a section in the back for all kinds of delicious frostings, toppings and fillings.  From sharing the basics of GF baking to offering resources and  information on blogs and hard to find  gluten free products, Ann Byrn has come up with a great addition to any kitchen bookshelf.  You can visit Workman Publishing or Amazon to pick up your own copy (I like mine too much to share).

10 thoughts on “Gluten Free Buzz

  1. LAURIE J JACOBSEN says:

    that looks amazeballs! were the ingredients expensive? I’ve been trying to cut back on my gluten intake because I feel so much better when I do…i may have to pick that cookbook up!!

    • susanmulder says:

      The gluten free cake mixes generally run anywhere around 3-5 dollars depending on the brand (Gluten Free Pantry has given me very consistent and good results). The other ingredients are what you might have in your own pantry already. There are SO many great recipes in this cookbook and I am really excited to have it–this is the first time I have been able to make GF goodies that can stand in for the ‘real thing’. I don’t think you will be disappointed if you add this to your collection!

  2. beth says:

    Mmm that cake looks delightful. Thank you so much for your thoughts on Twitter the other day – I have taken the plunge @DoWhatYouLoveXx See you there!

  3. Dena Dyer says:

    I have dairy and gluten sensitivities too, so I appreciate the info. The cake and book look yummy-and so does your blog. I can’t wait to dive in more fully (to all three!). I’m so glad you’ve joined The High Calling…looking forward to seeing you around the network. 🙂

    • susanmulder says:

      Thanks for stopping by Dena! If you get the chance to get the cookbook it is so good! My family does not have the same sensitivities I have and even they think the treats are yummy. Have a great week 🙂

  4. carissa p says:

    Hey Susan, this looks (or looked! mmm) seriously delicious. My mouth is literally watering. The book looks good too. Thanks for sharing… I’ve had migraines my entire life, and am starting to conclude gluten may be the culprit (due to the inflammation it causes.) I haven’t been tested for sensitivities and feel compelled to ask you how you went about finding out about yours? I wanted to email you directly, but couldn’t find your email, hope this isn’t too personal to ask here! My email is carissapaigeart(at)gmail.com

    Thanks in advance if you don’t mind sharing…

    I’m off to read the rest of your blog!

    xo,
    Carissa

    • susanmulder says:

      Hi Carissa!! It was seriously delicious!! I have suffered from migraines too and don’t know if there is a connection or not but I haven’t had near as many since I have radically changed my diet. I have never been tested but because I have some other diet related problems my doc suggested I reduce or eliminate gluten just to see if it might help-which it did! I am going to write you directly with more details 😉

      So, SO glad you stopped by!!
      xxoo Susan

Comments are closed.