Christmas a breath away


With wedding preparations under control and all of the Christmas gifts wrapped and ready to thus undone I have a quick moment to sit down and breathe.  I forget to breathe sometimes.  Does that ever happen to you?  I get so caught up in the frenzy of activity that can define daily life that I forget to inhale and be present in that breath.

As I  am listening to the steady hum of the dryer and thinking about the fresh warm sheets that will be ready in moments-I am also looking out into my backyard at the stillness and wishing for just a little of that for myself. With all of the things on my list of life’s daily duties and the secondary list of wedding, Christmas 1 and Christmas 2 (extended family) I realized that I have been holding my breath…again. So-deep inhale–slowly (you can do this with me) annnnnnnd exhale, slowly.   One more time–inhale………………………………….exhale………………………mmm, better.  I know my list is still there but meditating-however briefly-on the marvelous simplicity of the gift of breath pulls me back to my self and allows me to  find my way back to the pleasure of that list.

All those things I have to get ‘done’, checked-off, scratched out–most of these are for others.   Baking, wrapping, preparing, cooking, decorating–I do these things for myself too but the real pleasure lies in the doing of them for the ones I love. Creating their experiences, their memories of another family Christmas; the celebration of another wedding–the things that are looked back on with a sigh and a smile. A breath of a different sort.

Perhaps I am being a bit sentimental but the holidays do that to me sometimes-and I don’t really see that as a bad thing.  I look back at the Christmas’s past and even the wedding that took place a short nine months ago and find the pleasure in remembering. I also find pleasure in the wondering. What will the next wedding hold? What will the Christmas’s to come look like? Who will be with us, or gone, the next time we gather? And, I breathe. Maybe I will just think about the now-this Christmas. The gift of a family all together. Keep it simple.  Maybe I won’t stress about getting all of the dust swept away and every scrap of laundry done- but instead savor the fact that I can breathe deep and look around me to see everything I need right here.

As I breathe in I breathe in a prayer for each of you-that your Christmas be blessed and beautiful and as I breathe out, a prayer for light and love and a New Year filled will joy.  Merry Christmas, Happy New Year and may the Lord be with you…

2 Replies to “Christmas a breath away”

  1. Dear Susan,

    it’s lovely to have *met* you this year, and this post sure does ring a bell. I often do far too much and forget to breathe, so thanks for the reminder.

    I hope you have a wonderful new year and enjoy your clean sheets and breathers 🙂

    Amelia.x

    1. Thanks so much Amelia!!

      It has be delightful to follow you as well! I look forward to seeing what you do in 2011!

      Best wishes for a beautiful and art filled 2011 🙂

      Susan

Comments are closed.