Nil aon tintean mar do thintean fein


“There is no home like your own home”.  That is what  nil aon tintean mar do thintean fein means-what a beautiful saying.  With Thanksgiving a week away it is a timely saying as well!

No, I do not speak Irish but the postcard I received as part of The (great big) Stitched Post Card Swap (2) does.  What a treat to open my post box and find an Irish return address waiting on the top of the pile.  I knew it could only mean one thing-that my post card had arrived.  I had been looking forward to this for the last couple of weeks-sort of like a mini-mailbox Christmas before Thanksgiving…

I was tickled to find this endearing card and to see all the care that went into the quilling, stitching and the message.  Thank you so much Irina!  I think I was most touched by her message inside.  Irina shared that she is a social carer for the homeless and that the organization she works for uses this old Irish saying as their logo.  This message, carried across the ocean, is universal and I wanted to share it with you.  So many struggle to make ends meet-to even have a home and at this time of year it be especially difficult.

With this in mind I will go into my holidays with a reminder to reach out beyond what I know and do something for someone else-Thank you Irina for your message and your lovely card!

2 thoughts on “Nil aon tintean mar do thintean fein

Comments are closed.