Have a Beautiful Thanksgiving!


I have been busy in the studio revisiting a medium I have missed-good old fashioned painting.  I have five new paintings in process and am anxious to see where they take me!  It’s funny how things work though-I am painting and my mind is coming up with all sorts of great encaustic work I could do now that I have packed up my encaustics for the season.  When the weather turns colder it becomes increasingly more difficult to work with the hot wax–especially when it hardens on the brush before I can get it to my panel.  I only have a small space heater in my studio whose limitations (like blown fuses) make it insufficient for keeping it warm enough to work with the wax without frustration.  Soooo, ironic as it is I have more ideas for wax than for canvas!  No big deal though-I will work with a smile on my face ’cause I love paint 🙂

With that being said it is time to move from thoughts of paint to thoughts of turkey!!!  I wish you all the happiest of Thanksgiving’s!!  I have so much to be thankful for that  when this holiday rolls around I begin to feel almost overwhelmed.  Where do you begin to count the blessings?  From the simplest to the most complex I move through my days aware that things could be so different.  I may not have the best of everything, I may not shop at the best stores and I may have my personal limitations but all these are insignificant when  I take the time to look beyond the superficial and peer deeper into those things which last — it is there that I find the fullness of real gratitude.

Happy Thanksgiving!

2 thoughts on “Have a Beautiful Thanksgiving!

  1. Cathi Isza says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family too Susan. Don’t we all have to be thankful for what we have! There are so many that are not as fortunate as we are. Have a lovely day.

Comments are closed.