Happy September!


I am having a hard time believing that the summer has flown by and we are now facing Fall!  This summer was a whirlwind of activity and I just didn’t seem to find the time to sit back and soak in the sunshine (slathered in sunblock of course!)  I did manage to find a few moments that epitomized the pleasure of summer but far too few in my opinion! 

I can remember camping out in the back yard with my children and enduring  the lumpy terrain for the pure joy of  talking into the dark and listening for that change in breath that signified sleep.  Only then could I indulge in that parental paradise of watching a child sleep.  Those pass times have skittered away like a dragonfly hoping for its next treat and summer seems filled with adult  and presumably mature endeavors.  Sigh.

So now the time for Fall schedules and a return to routine has arrived and I am finding that I am not quite ready for the hunkering down just yet.  Fall has its own set of joys-apple picking, pumpkins (I adore pumpkins-especially the green/gray ones) spiced foods and warm drinks–all something wonderful to look forward to-but I am not quite ready to give up on Summer. 

I think I will go barefoot today, maybe even tarry in the sunshine a bit.  I will paint for a while but that will be a secondary consideration-it will merely be a part of the pie, not the whole pie today.  Hmm, pie-maybe I will even make a pie….

Enjoy today-it is So Worth It!!

