The Tree Project


In case you folks hadn’t noticed, I have a soft spot for inclusive art projects.  Artists who reach out to form  a community with other artists (and non-artists),  projects which involve a back-story or those seeking  to create a bridge of some sort are appealing and inspiring to me.  One project I came across-quite by accident- is the Tree Project (click to learn about the project and the show at the Horticultural Society of New York).

My seedlings...
My seedlings...

This is a fascinating project and involves communication with the executing artist who then sends you Hibaku tree seeds for you to nurture and grow.  Hibaku trees hail from Hiroshima and represent  the varieties of trees that survived the A-Bomb.  The artist, Hiroshi Sunairi, tells a bit about the project:

In the winter of 2008, from a tree Dr. Riki Horiguchi in Hiroshima, I received seeds of Round Leaf Holly, Persimmon, Chinaberry, Firmiana simplex, Japanese Hackberry, Jujube trees that are the second or third generation of Hibaku Trees.

I have been giving these seeds to the ones that are interested in planting them both in the US and the world. By sharing these seeds, I would like to share the pleasure of growing plants, especially the plants from Hibaku seeds.

 

I am honored and very happy to be participating in the Tree Project . I received my seeds early last week and they have been carefully planted.  Though way too early, I check on them regularly-just in case.  The nurturing and care of something as significant as these seeds, for me, is a wholly wonderful responsibility.  It is odd to quote a childs movie, but a song  from Chitty-Chitty Bang-Bang has stuck with me since I was little, but “From the ashes of disaster grow the roses of success”, when you think about it, is a wise and applicable choice.  To bring unity of purpose within a symbolic transplantation of tremendous strength and renewal is a very beautiful thing.

So, “grow the roses”! Or in this case, grow the Hibaku trees…

 

3 Replies to “The Tree Project”

Comments are closed.