A room of my own…


My working studio is so crammed with supplies and old work and there isn’t a corner fit for cogitating anywhere.  I have been camped out on the dining room table; or the sofa; or the steps in the hallway and even on the kitchen counter to work on my computer or compose ideas.  Those days are over-yay!

My wonderful other half  has moved his office to a more practical space for the business he does, which leaves his old spot vacant (not counting the stacks of binders, old computer parts, miscellany of all sort et al.).  I have to admit, I unceremoniously shoved and piled and relocated all of that plethora of piledom to the other side of the room and absconded with the remaining tables, odd desk items and old filing cabinets.  I think I remember him saying that I could have them-no, really I did!

What remains is the beginnings of my place to retreat to.  Here are a few shots of it in progress.  I should note that the only things I bought new for this project were velcro adhesive tape and upholstery webbing (I don’t know if my amazing bird drawing by Taylor Greenfieldshould be lumped in with velcro and webbing but I did getthat new and you’ll see it next time!).  Everything else came from Goodwill, the local thrift center or from a particularly good garage sale I hit this last weekend.  The rest has been culled from my personal stores of odds and ends, vintage linens and old canvases I had in the studio.

I will add more shots tomorrow and explain the who’s its and what’s its and wherefore’s  when I have more to show for my work…

 

