Tweet Cred…


I confess;I am afflicted with with an extremely bad case of Twitter.  I made the decision to have a Twadget on my desktop-which may or may not have been a wise thing to do.  Aside from driving my cat, Baudrillard, bonkers every time it ‘tweets’ I have begun to feel like I am in some sort of Pavlovian social experiment.  I find myself fighting the urge to peek every time I hear a ‘tweet’.  The nice thing about it being windows open season is that the tweets get mixed in with the cacophony of genuine outdoor tweets. Who am I kidding, I can tell the difference from the far reaches of my yard and have to chant, so no one else can hear,”I will not look, I will not look” in order to stop  myself from bolting to the nearest open door.

All kidding aside-when I get a particularly good tweet it is very satisfying to have learned something of use.  For example, ArtPrize tweets when an artist is matched and not only do I enjoy seeing who is getting ‘matched’  I have learned a great deal about professionalism and presentation.  Now, I am fresh out of grad school and while I am not, I repeat, not green by any stretch of the imagination-imagine my consternation on learning that I was never taught in grad school what a professional write up should be!?  I did learn how to compile a resume, a teaching philosophy, an artist statement and all the pertinent “stuff” for getting a job but I must have missed the session on how to make yourself look good :-/.

I have been so impressed with how these artist present their ideas, talk about themselves (something I HATE doing) and showcase their work.  Not only is their work great but they have it all together!  I have learned a thing or two just by checking these tweets out!  Proof you CAN teach and old, old dog new tricks!!

Tip of the ol’ bowler to ArtPrize for bringing more to the table for those who choose to look…

