Art Prize and, well, more Art Prize


I was unable to attend the attend the Art Prize town hall meeting but got all caught up on their video feed this morning.  I think they made a great attempt to clarify some of the issues but fell a bit short I think.  The ad hoc feeling of the presentations did little to inspire a great deal of confidence and left me a bit underwhelmed.

Don’t get me wrong here; I think this has the potential to do great things for GR and the surrounding areas but maybe the extra year they alluded to might have served to really get Art Prize out like a shot.  A lot of the questions didn’t really appear to get direct answers and the overall feel was one of flying-by-the-seat-of-their-pants.  I found the comment about controversial art a bit on the humorous  side when it was suggested that (and I am paraphrasing) the controversial artists band together and create their own little controversial corner.  Define controversial (?).  I think for this to really be taken seriously there needs to be a level of professionalism that does not leave room for criticism. 

My enthusiasm is, never the less, un-dampered…the potential of Art Prize is great so get out there and sign up.  www.artprize.org  (note it is not a .com so make sure you type it in correctly)

